Ahhh! My Toes are Showing!

I’m sitting here wearing flip flops. It’s 105 degrees outside and we are preparing for a garage sale. I take the “inside” job; you know the one where you peruse the inside of your house in the air conditioning looking for once-treasures to put in the sale. Each trip outside reminds me I’m glad I got the inside job! Back outside, it’s only 10 minutes before my shirt becomes a handkerchief to my overly “glowing” torso. WOW! Humidity can make a glorious day so oppressive.

My mind begins to wander and I envision countless numbers of men and women who don’t get the luxury of an “inside” job today. In fact, they don’t even get the luxury of slipping on a pair of flip flops. I’m thinking about the men and women who serve in our Armed Forces. For their safety they wear “battle approved” boots.    I would imagine in some locations in temperatures of 122 degrees or more, they long to cool down by donning a pair of flip flops.

You’ve heard the expression about being careful not to judge another until you’ve “walked a mile in their shoes”. I know we all think good thoughts about our armed forces and we wish them well, but what if we took a day and really walked in their shoes or er, boots? What if instead of walking around in flip flops, I spent a day in regulation Army boots? I bet I would have a practical and real appreciation for the things our military personnel endure just so I can enjoy the freedom of hosting a garage sale.Trading My Flip Flops for Boots

The weather for the garage sale is more heat and humidity; oppressive to be sure. However I can think of nothing cooler than to spend my earnings buying a pair of regulation boots from The Boot Campaign, and in so doing give something back to those who gave up their flip flops for me.

About BootCampaign

The Boot Campaign is a grassroots initiative started by five women from Texas known as the Boot Girls. The Boot Campaign is a new way Americans can show their support for our active duty service members and veterans. This grassroots campaign has captured the attention of American celebrities and civilians – from professional athletes, politicians, country music stars and more – and is quickly gaining momentum. Money raised will support troops and veterans through the work of the Lone Survivor Foundation and other charities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ahhh! My Toes are Showing!

  1. Kevin Bailey says:

    I hope my Boots show up so I can wear them to the 8/28 rally. It’s a mile from the Metro stop to the Mall. I really want to walk a mile in there shoes.

  2. bootcampaign says:

    So when have YOU realized you’ve got it easy compared to our men and women around the world defending our freedoms?

Leave a Reply

