With a Fascinator at the Academy Awards

By Boot Recruit Myra

About this time last year there was a Facebook frenzy among women to post on their status the location of their purse.  It left much to the imagination as you can, well, imagine!  It was done to raise awareness for breast cancer.  Surely its intent was to also raise eyebrows as people tried to figure out the mystery of the posts.  And people’s inquiries produced just as elusive a response as the game itself.  It kept the mystery and fun alive for weeks.

I began to wonder if I could come up with some clever comment to post that would stir people to converse with me especially since I love talking to people, whether in person or through social media.  Then today I learned a new word which evoked my sly devilish grin as I pondered my plan of creating a status-trending game for our Boot Campaign social media friends.  I’m hoping it takes off  much like the “on the dryer” type posts from last year’s awareness game.

The new word is not only fun to say but it solves a problem with my coiffure.  A fascinator is a cross between a hat and a hair-pin made popular by the upper crust royalties of the world.  I’d like to think of it as a quasi-hat since it fastens to the head more in line with a large ornate hat-pin.  It usually contains wool or velvet and feathers.  Since it’s all the rage for those locked into royal wedding plans these days, it caught my attention.  I’m so delighted that George Stephanopoulos’ shared in my “fascination” for this word (see video here)!  To my great relief this fashion trend solves a definite “bad hair day” problem by keeping unruly hair pinned back.  This is also good news for all of you who live in the Windy City.  Maybe you already use faccinators, I realized I do, but never knew the formal name for them, in my house they are called “hair do-dads”, the difference between royal language and commoner to be sure.

So with my new word in hand or er, on my mind, or maybe on my head, and a quip for brow-raising (but clean), light hearted, comical  fun,  comments began to form.  How about you boot-wearing fans and supporters of the military?  What will you post during the month of March on your social media sites to get people inquiring?  Whatever you post make sure its a response to one of these questions:  “what do you wear with your boots?” or “where do go in your boots?”  Its great fodder for some social media entertainment while donating some new ideas for everyone on boot-wearing wardrobe options. Funny, how that new word became the impetus for my next status post.  See what you think of these options:

with a fascinator at the Academy Awards (in my dreams I know, but it could happen)

while watching UFC

with some chocolate

I’m sure I don’t need to give you any more ideas, as it’s certain you’re already formulating some clever options of your own.  So have at it!  Let’s see what kind of trend we can start with this fun little boot-wearing game.  You can check my FB post if you need an idea!  Who knows? Maybe someone will actually have a fascinator they can wear with their boots and post a photo on our FB pages!


About BootCampaign

The Boot Campaign is a grassroots initiative started by five women from Texas known as the Boot Girls. The Boot Campaign is a new way Americans can show their support for our active duty service members and veterans. This grassroots campaign has captured the attention of American celebrities and civilians – from professional athletes, politicians, country music stars and more – and is quickly gaining momentum. Money raised will support troops and veterans through the work of the Lone Survivor Foundation and other charities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

