Long Enough Or Just Getting Started?

By Boot Girl Myra

Just a few short days ago my husband and I celebrated 22 years of marriage. I told him if there was a place to register for 22 more, to sign me up! As the years go by and our children are moving closer to the door of opportunity without us, I’m reminded of the value in taking stock in anniversaries of any kind. Looking back, as I’ve often said, helps pave the way to go forward.

I look back on our wedding day and realize that no amount of heat can keep young love at bay. We were married on August 26, 1989 in Tempe, Arizona. It was 114 degrees that day and we had our pictures taken outdoors at 5 in the afternoon. Most of our photos have the iconic Big-Gulp soda in them somewhere; it was after all, hot as blazes. We’ve had our share of ups and downs like everyone does, and I’ve learned when he begins a sentence with the word “dear” he’s about to tell me something that isn’t pleasant. It’s like prefacing bad news with “dear, I’m about to tell you something you may not like, but know I’m calling you dear, because no matter the outcome, I still like you, heck, I still love you”. Not long ago, at a friend’s funeral, when the Pastor asked the surviving husband how long he and his wife had been married before she died, he replied 58 years. The pastor’s response was the same thing you just thought, “WOW that’s a long time”. But his response was “it wasn’t long enough”.

You might be sitting there on the cusp of the 10th Anniversary of September 11 wondering “is it possible that it’s been that long already?” It’s been long enough that a generation of children are grown up, and seeing the world through different eyes. In the next few weeks some guest writers will recount their September 11, 2001 experience. You’ll hear some amazing perspectives and probably want to take note of how the last 10 years has changed you and your family.

If you looked back 2 years ago into the lives of the Boot Girls you’d see them crafting a clever plan for civilians to support men and women who work to protect our nation, while in harm’s way, at-will for practically nothing. As we approach the 2nd Anniversary of the Boot Campaign, we want to thank the thousands of people who have demonstrated their appreciation for our military by getting their boots ON. If you need a little encouragement to get through a tough time, you might want to look at their personal diary of the journey. It is remarkable to look back and see that those humble beginnings created an avenue to raise over $350,000 to support wounded military to date.

Whether it’s looking back at an enormous loss, or celebrating accomplishments, those moments provide us with the determination to move ahead with the hope of a brighter future. It takes working together though; whether in marriage, overcoming a tragedy or starting a grass-roots military support initiative. We’d love to hear your stories as they are a powerful tool in the shaping of all our futures!

About BootCampaign

The Boot Campaign is a grassroots initiative started by five women from Texas known as the Boot Girls. The Boot Campaign is a new way Americans can show their support for our active duty service members and veterans. This grassroots campaign has captured the attention of American celebrities and civilians – from professional athletes, politicians, country music stars and more – and is quickly gaining momentum. Money raised will support troops and veterans through the work of the Lone Survivor Foundation and other charities.
This entry was posted in Heroes, military support, SOT, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long Enough Or Just Getting Started?

  1. Denise says:

    I can truly relate to your comments above. On September 9th, my husband and I will be sharing our 15 year wedding anniversary and I too would sign up for 15 more… and then some of course. We’ve been through A LOT together and our relationship is as strong as ever. He is my rock and my forever love. We will also have to endure the empty nest syndrome soon so we too are trying to hold on to memories as we try to also cherish every moment we have together.

    So where did the last 10 years go? Time certainly does fly…

    I am from New York so on our anniversary, 10 years ago, my husband gave me a plane ticket there to see my family. I was SO excited since I hadn’t seen them in years. But of course 2 days later I was horrified after the tragic 9/11 incident took place. My ticket was scheduled for 2 weeks after 9/11. Could I actually take that flight?? I was not only in fear of my life but scared to see or even be near the devastation that had just taken place 2 weeks before.

    Until the moment I boarded the plane, I was prepared to turn back. I warned my husband that I may come straight home if I felt any uncontrollable anxiety. He of course was very supportive and was okay with whatever I decided to do.

    I took that LONG flight, and when I landed at LaGuardia Airport, the silence and somberness was painfully numbing. And obviously, the city was in such shock that it was apparently the safest time to be there. I was told that the crime level was down to nothing but I was not in fear of general “crime”, I had become as stereotypical as everyone else I knew, so I’m sure you can imagine what I actually feared.

    I thankfully lost no family members in that tragedy but the mental and emotional state that they were left in truly can’t be described.

    I have always supported our soldiers and have never taken for granted what they have done for our country. So not only for our men and women who have gone to war or overseas, but the men and women who put there lives on the line for us on 9/11 will never forget what they’ve been through. I don’t think we can thank them enough for what they’ve done for us.

    The PTSD (and other injuries) that these poor soldiers are faced with when they come home are devastating and life altering. I met the folks from Paws and Stripes a couple of years ago who started a great organization that also help soldiers returning from war etc. Anyone reading this should look up their organization and see the amazing work they are doing for our soldiers as well. Your friends at the “Veteran Outdoors” show also awarded Jim (from Paws and Stripes) that dream hunt, back in June… Do you remember? It was so great!!

    Our friends hosted the “Rock The Boot” concert back in June which is when I learned about The Boot Campaign and was so excited to hear of the amazing things you’ve done. It seems to have spread like wildfire especially with all the celebrity endorsements. And I have tried to do my part to educate as many people as I can about the importance of supporting these brave men and women.

    I recently and proudly purchased the boots as a gift to myself for my 40th birthday and can’t wait to show them off!

    I am going back to NY again in a few weeks, which was only by coincidence, planned to fall just after 9/11 almost 10 years to the day since I was there last. I am so excited to go but will have to bring a suitcase of tissues I’m sure. Tower One / The World Trade center (“One World Trade Center”) is being rebuilt and the memorial sites and museum are also said to be amazing. I can’t wait to pay my respects, and I can promise you, I won’t be in fear of going or being there.

    Thank you Boot Girls…

  2. Dee says:

    As always, an excellent article, Myra! You always offer such great perspectives. No amount of time together is enough when we lose someone we love. So true!

Leave a Reply

