Not What But Who

By Boot Girl Myra

Several of my friends took the November challenge.  It’s the daily challenge to post something you’re thankful for during the weeks leading up to Thanksgiving.  I’ve been pondering this all month.  Instead though, I was challenged not to list one single thing but to list people who, if they weren’t in my life it would be lacking.

Friends from Elementary School 1972

I looked through my friends on Facebook and relished knowing I am still friends with people I’ve known since kindergarten.  I am thankful for  David Grace, who pursued his dreams of being a television and movie producer, even with uncertainty of when the next job would materialize.  Michelle Olivas’ mom taught me the importance of a perfectly tee-peed (“wrapped” if you live in Texas) house.  That was one which the recipient was reticent to take down for the art-form that it was!  My date to homecoming my sophomore year, Steve Keough taught me that guys can do the splits to DEVO’s song “WHIP IT” with such precision, it can stop a dance mid-stream with people shouting “do that again”.   I think of my friend Shari Wilson who, for no other reason than we love to laugh, has sent me gifts of laughter for over 25 years.  Laughter is the salve that heals deep wounds.  If she weren’t around I’d probably be dead.

My parents, are the kind of people everyone needs in their life.  Married for 59 years, you can still catch them holding hands.  I love it that my dad still tells my mom she’s beautiful.  Scrolling through our Heroes album, I look at Chad Flemings’s photo and become thankful for him, though we’ve only met in passing.  When so much about this world is about appearances, his ability to make prosthetic legs something more of an in-your-face challenge motivates me. It’s as if he’s saying “just TRY to beat me”.

I am thankful for each of the Boot Girls; for their love of country, so much so they will work inordinate amounts of time without pay to inspire others to appreciate their freedom.  Today I’m especially thankful for BG Mariae’s parents.  Their chilling escape from Vietnam in 1975 with little more than the hope of living free was worth risking their lives.  My life would be lacking without some Mariae flair.

For the next few days as you travel, stuff yourself with every possible deliciousness, shop beyond the dropping stage and manage your things, take time to think of people in your life who, without them, would leave you lacking.

It’s not the “what” I am thankful for today but the “who”.   Do me a favor, tell me WHO you are thankful for, and if you have opportunity, tell them as well!

About BootCampaign

The Boot Campaign is a grassroots initiative started by five women from Texas known as the Boot Girls. The Boot Campaign is a new way Americans can show their support for our active duty service members and veterans. This grassroots campaign has captured the attention of American celebrities and civilians – from professional athletes, politicians, country music stars and more – and is quickly gaining momentum. Money raised will support troops and veterans through the work of the Lone Survivor Foundation and other charities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not What But Who

  1. A GREAT post, Myra! Today I am thankful (among thousands of other things also) for the military families. November is “Military Family Appreciation Month” – Check out my blog –
    http://www.sevenpillarsofsuccess.net/seven-pillars-of-success/seven-reasons-to-be-thankful-for-our-military-families/

    I hope you have a blessed Thanksgiving – and thanks for all you do!

  2. Steve K says:

    Thanks for the mention my dear friend. I most definitely am thankful for so many dear friends that God has allowed me to encounter. My lovely wife and each family member I have share bread with. Camp settings and school settings are where I have enjoyed so many special times. Little Jill Beckner singing as a 5yr old right behind the pastor as we performed a powerful skit. A student 4 years ago who told me as a 3rd grader that to get by sometimes we need to “rise above”. God bless you Myra.

Leave a Reply

